Freycinet National Park
Type: Caravan park, Shop, Camping, Tourist Infomation
Payments accepted: Cash, Visa, Mastercard, Direct deposit, Bankcard
The park is best known for the stunning beauty of Wineglass Bay, its crystal clear waters and curvaceous international award winning white beach, it’s Tasmania’s most celebrated view.
Freycinet Peninsula was first discovered by Abel Tasman in 1642 when navigating the East coast of Tasmania, he named Schouten Island & the peninsula Vanderlyn’s Eylandt (believing it to be a chain of islands). This Myth was dispelled during the visit of Nicholas Baudin, the French explorer, in 1802-03. The Freycinet brothers were senior officers on Baudine’s expedition, although it is unclear which one the peninsula was named after. The Majestic beauty of Freycinet’s granite mountains and white, sandy beaches have also long been admired by naturalists, artists & writers. The area was reserved as a National Park in 1916, making it the oldest National Park in Tasmania.
A valid parks pass is required for entry to all of Tasmania’s National Parks, there are a range of options listed on our website https://parks.tas.gov.au/explore-our-parks/know-before-you-go/entry-fees